The Terrace Wonder of Peru
A few miles before arriving in Llapay, coming from Lunahuaná, there is the detour that leads to the city of Laraos. It is a road in constant climb for about 10 km.
During this tour, the traveler can see endless rows of terraces on the mountain known as Laraos Terraces. It has pre-Inca archaeological remains such as Wanlapata, Wajramarka, Wayaumarca, Callawarqui and Sinchimarka.
Laraos District is one of thirty-three districts in the province of Yauyos in the Lima region of Peru.
Older people in Laraos still speak an archaic Quechua dialect. Since no children speak the language, it is directly threatened with extinction.
The district of Laraos is one of the oldest in the province of Yauyos and its history is extensive and dates from before the incarnation. Its predecessor is Sinchimarka, cradle of the Forjers, but at the same time courageous and combative men, like all the tribes that followed the Yauyos who were stubborn resistance fighters before being conquered by the Inkan leader Pachakutiq. The ancient cities of Laraos are: Wanllapata, Waqramarka, Wayawmarka and Callawarqui. Sinchimarka is an Inca city.
In 1586, as viceroy Don Fernando de Torres of Portugal, the first mayor of Yauyos, Don Diego Dávila Briceño, made the territorial demarcation and formed four parishes or kuratos with more than four cities, each entrusted in the service of Dominican priests. These were: Santo Domingo de Yauyos, Santo Domingo de Laraos, San Cristóbal de Huánec and Santa Maria de Pampas.
It can be said that with the Spanish conquest, the Sinchimarka aborigines were forced to move to the present location of the district. So he acquired the name of Santo Domingo de Cocha Laraos, one of the most important cities, and then he contributed to the processing of the inhabitants of Yauyos.
Its name comes from a derivation of the word Jaqi or Jaqaru Larawpukyu (laraw paved road, Pukyu Spring, “Spring in the Paved Road”, Hispanicized Laraupugio). With the transculturalization of the Andes, it transforms into Laraus (plural), that is, paved roads, and with the fortification it is pronounced Laraos.
The farming community of Laraos was recognized on 2 September 1938. Their outbuildings are San Juan de Langaico and Lanca. Its populated centers are Llapay and Tintin. The city is divided into ten main roads: Callhuapampa, Ansaya, Larpa, Callampa, Súniqui, Canacallu, Achallanca, Warcaña, Caracara and Chunchillo.