+51 925 697 941 +51 925 697 941
MTC Vuelos

Flights and ground transportation to Cusco and nine other regions suspended and returned to quarantine

The list includes Madre de Dios, Ancash, Moquegua, Tacna, Puno, Huancavelica, Cajamarca, Amazonas and Apurimac

Interprovincial land and air travel will be suspended in the regions that have returned to quarantine, due to the increase in cases of contagion from Covid-19, Minister of Transport and Communications Carlos Estremadoyro announced today.

These are the regions of Madre de Dios, Ancash, Moquegua, Tacna, Cusco, Puno, Huancavelica, Cajamarca, Amazonas and Apurimac, the same as those already in quarantine: Arequipa, Ica, Junín, Huánuco and San Martín.

The people will be able to move between today Saturday and tomorrow Sunday to return to their cities of origin or work, within these regions. The measure will apply until August 31, as part of the extension of the national state of emergency for the coronavirus pandemic.

“Today, Saturday, and tomorrow, Sunday, people will be able to return to their workplaces or hometowns. As of Monday, they will require a pass to travel between cities, since interprovincial travel will be suspended,” explained Minister Estremadoyro during his working visit to the Moquegua region today.

Minister Estremadoyro specified that the other activities restarted in Phase 3 of the economic revival will continue, but it will not be possible to resume new activities in these regions.

In this regard, domestic airlines confirmed to their passengers that routes from Lima to Cusco, Juliaca, Tacna and Ilo and vice versa will be operated only until August 3 and, as of August 4, will be temporarily cancelled.

While flights to Arequipa, Cajamarca, Jaén, Puerto Maldonado, Tarapoto and Jauja will cease to operate until August 31. International routes will remain suspended until the end of August, according to Latam Airlines, Sky Airline and Viva Air Peru.

Source: Turiweb

MTC Vuelos
Minister Carlos Estremadoyro announcing the suspension of flights in ten regions of the country by Covid-19.